domingo, 22 de mayo de 2016


The Banqueting House was built in 1619-22 and is the only remaining building belonging to Whitehall Palace, the main royal residence from 1530 to 1698. A previous banqueting hall had been built in 1607 but burned to the ground. Provisions were made for the new building to be clad in Portland stone, but it was instead faced with stone from Northamptonshire and Oxfordshire. The Portland stone of the current facade replaced the original in the early 19th century and the sash windows are also modernising touch compared to the mullioned originals. The Banqueting House is considered the most important work by architect Inigo Jones and features ceiling panels painted by Peter Paul Rubens. The rest of the Whitehall Palace was destroyed in a fire in 1898 or was later demolished, as happened to the Holbein Gate.

Ashburnham House was built in the 1660s, incorporating the remains of the old Prior's house of Westminster Abbey and the monks' refectory, where the House of Commons met in the 13th century. The design of the house has been attributed to Inigo Jones or his pupil John Webb, but the architect is now more commonly believed to have been William Samwell. The house has been property of Westminster School since 1882 and is located in Little Dean's Yard, which is a private gated yard. 

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario